DE EN

INITIATIVE for SOLIDARITY at the THEATER

Plenary Meeting - 31st March 2019 - Berlin

We* are many: we* are theater makers onstage and backstage, in state theaters and in independent theaters, in production, dramaturgy, performance, and direction. We* are white people and People of Color. We* have different socioeconomic backgrounds and different sexual orientations and identities. We* identify as intersectional feminists. Together we form the INITIATIVE FOR SOLIDARITY at the THEATER (ISaT).

ISaT is a Network to join together to unite in the battles that we*1 have to fight on a daily basis at work. For a theater space free from fear. With solidarity and with understanding for the different situations we* find ourselves in and the positions from which we* speak.

1On the first of December, 2017, 71 initial signatories were on our list.

MANIFESTO

A significant majority of artistic directors and director positions within city and state theaters in the German speaking world are still occupied by white, cis-gender and able-bodied men. Women*, queer people, people with disabilities and People of Color are underrepresented, especially in artistic leadership positions. Their work has been relocated to the independent scene, which is marked by economic insecurity and self-exploitation.

The main paradox of the German cultural scene is that contemporary exploitative processes are confronted artistically but are nevertheless reproduced within its structures. The problem of hierarchical and patriarchal theater persists: those responsible (generally male, white, and heterosexual) make decisions about which spaces are opened and to whom. Structural oppression in the theater: a never-ending story?

Our initiative gathers all of those who want to change this.

The network consists of theater makers onstage and backstage, in state theaters and in free theaters, in production, dramaturgy, performance, and direction. We* are white people and People of Color. We* have different socioeconomic backgrounds and different sexual orientations and identities. We* identify as intersectional feminists, who don’t only consider the power relations between “men” and “women,” but all groups who are marginalized by the system of patriarchy.

We* unite in order to stand up for more solidarity. Out of isolation and into an intersectional alliance – with the awareness that we* are comprised of many people who have been subjected to similar obstacles. We* want to concentrate on uniting different fights and to especially give a voice those who haven’t found an advocacy group in networks that already exist.

The network is open for all who can relate to our description of the theater system and who wish to join in solidarity with the network’s activities (no matter if you yourself feel marginalized).

We* want to enter in to a sensible, productive dialogue with policy makers and institutions and work together to create spaces in which racism, misogyny, sexism and discrimination of “non-conforming” bodies and identities are addressed and combated. We* are concerned with addressing subtle and unconscious forms of discrimination, which, despite critical consciousness and cultural education, can be found within the shared stories of theater-makers. A central concern is also to name and challenge the exploitative working conditions which are agreed to in the name of art.

PLANS

We* want to build a network to ensure a higher presence of underrepresented and falsely represented people in the performing arts. Thereby we* especially want to bring together those with similar experiences, with regard to power structures in theatrical organizations. The starting point in founding ISaT was the realization that seemingly isolated incidents of uncomfortable situations at work were actually structural. The responses received through sharing experiences of oppression and marginalization, to not stand alone, can (re)strengthen self-confidence and introduce possibilities for action. Therefore, we first and foremost want to bring theater makers together and create spaces to speak with each other. We want to counteract isolation and make structural (suppression) mechanisms as such – and not as individual workers – recognizable and tangible.

We* want to achieve these goals through various events. For us, the aspect of decentralization is important. The network meetings should take place in different places in all areas of the German-language theater (keyword: the solidarity comes to you!). By building up a transregional network, we* want to take inventory and collect as many different testimonials of structural violence in theater in order to identify opportunities for action. Alongside this, we* want to create a website where possibilities for networking and exchange, regardless of location, can occur. Furthermore we* want to work with mentors and mediators who can be contacted through meetings and via the website.

In future stages, we* want to develop and offer workshops – in person and as webinars – on the topics of empowerment and alternative working structures, both as stand-alone events and within the context of festivals and other occasions.

In addition, we* want to establish contact with institutions and theater-leaders, as well as with political decision makers. Together we will work on concrete possibilities for implementation. In addition to this, we* want to offer strategic coaching to (theater) institutions.









Write us!


"There is no such thing as a single-issue struggle because we do not live single-issue lives."
Audre Lorde

INITIATIVE für SOLIDARITÄT am THEATER

Wir* sind viele: wir* sind Theatermacher*innen, auf und hinter der Stadttheaterbühne, an freien Häusern, in Produktion, Dramaturgie, Performance und Regie. Wir* sind weiße und PoC, haben verschiedene sozioökonomische Hintergründe sowie verschiedene sexuelle Orientierungen und Identitäten. Wir* verstehen uns als intersektionale Feminist*innen. Gemeinsam bilden wir* die INITIATIVE für SOLIDARITÄT am THEATER (ISaT).

Die ISat ist ein Netzwerk, in dem wir*1 unsere Kämpfe, die wir* in unserem Arbeitsalltag tagtäglich führen müssen, vereinen. Für einen angstfreien Theater-Raum. Mit Solidarität und mit Verständnis für die unterschiedlichen Situationen, in denen wir* uns befinden, und Positionen, aus denen wir* sprechen.

1 Am 1.12.2017 standen 71 Erstunterzeichner*innen auf der Liste.

MANIFEST

Die große Mehrheit der Intendanz- und Regiepositionen der Stadt- und Staatstheater im deutschsprachigen Raum werden nach wie vor von weißen, cis-gendered und able-bodied Männern besetzt. Frauen*, queere Menschen, Menschen mit Behinderung, People of Colour sind, v.a. in künstlerischen Leitungspositionen, unterrepräsentiert. Ihre Arbeit wird in die Freie Szene verlagert, die von ökonomischen Unsicherheiten und Selbstausbeutung geprägt ist.

Das größte Paradox der deutschen Kulturszene ist es, dass sie sich zwar auf der künstlerischen Seite kritisch mit ausbeuterischen Prozessen der Gegenwart auseinandersetzt, sie jedoch selbst in ihren Strukturen reproduziert. Die Problematik des hierarchischen und patriarchalen Theaterbetriebs bleibt: die Verantwortlichen (in der Regel männlich, weiß und heterosexuell) entscheiden, wem welche Räume geöffnet werden. Strukturelle Unterdrückung im Theater: eine „neverending story“?

Unsere Initiative versammelt all diejenigen, die daran etwas ändern wollen.

Das Netzwerk besteht aus Theatermacher*innen, die sowohl auf und hinter der Stadttheaterbühne als auch an freien Häusern in Produktion, Dramaturgie, Performance und Regie arbeiten. Wir* sind weiße und PoC, haben verschiedene sozioökonomische Hintergründe sowie verschiedene sexuelle Orientierungen und Identitäten. Wir* verstehen uns als intersektionale Feminist*innen, die nicht nur das Machtverhältnis zwischen „Männern“ und „Frauen“ betrachten, sondern alle durch das patriarchale System marginalisierte Gruppen.

Gemeinsam bilden wir* die INITIATIVE für SOLIDARITÄT am THEATER (ISaT).

Wir* schließen uns zusammen, um gemeinsam für mehr Solidarität einzutreten. Raus aus der Vereinzelung, rein in ein intersektionales Bündnis – mit dem Bewusstsein, dass das Wir* aus Vielen besteht, die ähnlichen Widerständen im Beruf ausgesetzt sind. Dabei wollen wir* uns darauf konzentrieren, die verschiedenen Kämpfe zu vereinen und besonders denjenigen eine Stimme zu geben, die bisher keine Lobby in bestehenden Netzwerken gefunden haben.

Das Netzwerk soll offen sein für alle, die unsere Beschreibung des Theatersystems nachvollziehen können und die sich mit der Arbeit des Netzwerkes solidarisieren möchten (unabhängig davon, ob sie sich selbst marginalisiert fühlen).

Wir* wollen in einen sinnvollen, produktiven Dialog treten mit Entscheidungsträger*innen und Institutionen, und gemeinsam daran arbeiten, Räume zu schaffen, in denen Rassismus, Frauen*feindlichkeit, Sexismus und Diskriminierung „nicht konformer“ Körper und Identitäten thematisiert und bekämpft werden können. Dabei geht es uns darum, die unterschwelligen und unbewussten Formen von Diskriminierung anzusprechen, die trotz kritischem Bewusstsein und kultureller Bildung in den alltäglichen Handlungen von Theaterschaffenden vorzufinden sind. Zentrales Anliegen ist es ebenso, die ausbeuterischen Arbeitsverhältnisse, die im Namen der Kunst in Kauf genommen werden, zu benennen und zu bekämpfen.

VORHABEN

Wir* wollen ein Netzwerk schaffen, um eine höhere Präsenz von Unter-/Falschrepräsentierten in den Darstellenden Künsten zu gewährleisten. Dabei wollen wir* insbesondere Menschen mit ähnlichen Erfahrungen hinsichtlich Machtstrukturen im Theaterbetrieb zusammenbringen. Ausgangspunkt für die Gründung der ISaT war die Erkenntnis, dass als unangenehm empfundene Arbeitssituationen keine Einzelfälle, sondern strukturell bedingt sind. Die durch den Austausch über Erfahrungen mit Unterdrückung und Ausgrenzung erhaltene Rückmeldung, nicht alleine da zu stehen, kann das Selbstbewusstsein (wieder) stärken und Handlungsmöglichkeiten eröffnen. Daher wollen wir* als Erstes Theatermacher*innen zusammenbringen und Räume schaffen, um miteinander zu sprechen. Wir* wollen der Vereinzelung entgegenwirken und strukturelle (Unterdrückungs-)Mechanismen als solche – und nicht als Problem individueller Arbeiter*innen – erkennbar und erfahrbar machen.

Dies wollen wir* mithilfe von verschiedenen Veranstaltungen erreichen. Dabei ist für uns der Aspekt der Dezentralität wichtig. So sollen Netzwerktreffen an verschiedenen Orten im gesamten deutschsprachigen Theaterraum stattfinden (Stichwort: Die Solidarität kommt zu dir!). Beim Aufbau des überregionalen Netzwerkes möchten wir* eine Bestandsaufnahme machen und möglichst viele unterschiedliche Erfahrungsberichte zu struktureller Gewalt im Theater sammeln, um daraus Handlungsmöglichkeiten abzuleiten. Parallel dazu bauen wir* eine Website auf, über die auch ortsunabhängige Vernetzungs- und Austauschmöglichkeiten entstehen sollen. Weiterhin möchten wir* mit Mentor*innen und Mediator*innen zusammenarbeiten, zu denen durch Treffen und Webseite Kontakt hergestellt werden kann.

In weiteren Schritten möchten wir* Workshops – in Person und als Webinare – zu Empowerment und alternativen Arbeitsstrukturen entwickeln und anbieten, als eigene Veranstaltungen, aber auch im Rahmen von Festivals und zu anderen Gelegenheiten.

Des Weiteren möchten wir* Kontakt zu Institutionen und Theater-Leitungen sowie politischen Entscheidungsträger*innen aufnehmen und gemeinsam mit diesen an konkreten Umsetzungsmöglichkeiten arbeiten. Darüberhinaus möchten wir* (Theater-)Institutionen strategische Beratung anbieten.









Schreib uns!


"There is no such thing as a single-issue struggle because we do not live single-issue lives."
Audre Lorde